SITE UPDATED: 8/12/22
Watch for frequent updates!



Yale 62

This Just In

News Briefs concerning classmates and more, including Bill Reilly, Paul Wortman, Roman Weil, Paul Gorman, an update on Roman Weil, Lew Spratlan, Sam Waterston, the sinking of the Moskva, Duncan Spencer, Yale Admissions, Yale resources on the war in Ukraine, Bob Lefevre, our 60th Reunion Team, Bill Stork, Bill Stott, Dixie Carroll, John Stewart and many, many more. READ THE LATEST…


In MemoriamJeffrey H. WoodwardJeffrey H. Woodward
May 2, 2022
Obituary to be posted
Obituaries Index


Robert L. StiversRobert L. Stivers
Dec. 23, 2020
Obituary to be posted
Obituaries Index


Kenneth T. CasconeKenneth T. Cascone
Mar. 18, 2022
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Eric EitreimEric Eitreim
Jan. 8, 2022
Obituary to be posted
Obituaries Index


In MemoriamEdward EaganEdward F. Eagan III
Dec. 10, 2019
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Jonathan SpenceJonathan D. Spence
Dec. 29, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Alex GarvinAlexander Garvin
Dec. 17, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Kenneth J. EdwardsKenneth J. Edwards
Dec. 17, 2017
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Kevin BuckleyKevin Buckley
Nov. 3, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Ruly CarpenterRuly Carpenter
Sept. 13, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Howard KolodnyHoward Kolodny
Sept. 9, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Dr. Ted HardEdward W. Hard, Jr.
July 16, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Jim WhippleJames F. Whipple
July 13, 2021
Obituary to be posted
Obituaries Index


OvermyerAllen R. Overmyer
June 15, 2021
Obituary to be posted
Obituaries Index


Thomas S. Childs Jr.Thomas S. Childs, Jr.
June 1, 2021
Obituary to be posted
Obituaries Index


Robert W. GrayRobert W. Gray
May 30, 2021
EULOGY posted
Obituary to be posted
Obituaries Index


George A. Evans, Jr.George A. Evans, Jr.
May 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Henry Clay ChildsHenry Clay Childs
May 13, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Bruce P. BedfordBruce P. Bedford
April 29, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Doug CharlesAdelbert K. Charles, Jr.
Apr. 26, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Matthew L. BlackMatthew W. Black, Jr.
Apr. 12, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Ed WorthyEdmund H. Worthy, Jr.
Mar. 27, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Paul Joseph BschorrPaul J. Bschorr
Feb. 21, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Noel E. Hanf, Jr.Noel E. Hanf, Jr.
Feb. 14, 2021
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Sam KnollSamuel H. Knoll
Dec. 26, 2020
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Spike BurnsFrederick Burns
Dec. 21, 2020
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Ted BaldwinThayer ‘Ted’ Baldwin, Jr.
Dec 9, 2020
Obituary is posted
Obituaries Index


Tip: Select any of the Obituaries Index links above to view all of the obituaries of our ’62 classmates we currently have on our site.

8/09/22
Y62: Our August ‘First Thursday’ Coffee Hour on “Surviving Yale”

On August 4, we held our “First Thursday’ Coffee Hour. Small group chat is not shown in the recording (not possible in the software we use), but everything from the large group is here. Enjoy the recording!

CLICK HERE TO COMMENT ON THE COFFEE HOUR


8/09/22
How Secure is China’s Leadership? Part Two
By Bill Stork

In the U.S., the political parties and media have their focus on the mid-term elections, and perhaps there is too much to cover and too much coverage. In China, the Chinese Communist Party has its Party Congress every five years, with the next one scheduled for this fall (date not yet revealed). At the last Party Congress, President Xi Jinping had enough power to scrap term limits on his presidency. But has his power slipped? Will the Party Congress vote to restore those term limits? Will they move forward on any other limitations?

Part Two of this three-part article will take a look at Xi’s standing within the Chinese Communist… CLICK HERE TO READ BILL’S COMPLETE ESSAY


8/01/22
Y62 Interview: Breaux Castleman, Jack Merrick

Last week, Communications Team member Bill Weber had the good chance to sit down with classmates Breaux Castleman and Jack Merrick, both of whom have ties to the oil industry, to talk about the fossil fuels pricing we’ve seen over the past few months. Enjoy this enlightening talk!

CLICK HERE TO COMMENT ON THE INTERVIEW


8/01/22
You Can Ignore Reality Only by Ignoring the Risk of Unacceptable Outcomes
By Anthony Carbone

Let’s start on the above theme with a capsule summary of the Biden administration’s energy policy. In the short term, the intent is to restrict the supply of fossil fuels, thereby driving up prices relative to renewable energy sources. Longer term, the objective is ultimately to deconstruct the oil and gas industry and limit production to approved, hard-to-decarbonize applications. The “forcing functions” that underpin this… CLICK HERE TO READ ANTHONY’S COMPLETE COMMENTARY


8/01/22
Legacy admits, affirmative action and college rankings: NOT All Quiet on the Admissions Front
By Lee Bolman

With the odds of admission steeper than ever, should legacy applicants still get an edge? Should Yale still consider race in admissions decisions? Will race and legacy status both disappear in the wake of a Supreme Court decision next year? Should Yale continue to participate in the US News annual college rankings when other schools may be gaming the numbers?  All these questions have been in the news recently…. CLICK HERE TO READ LEE’S COMPLETE ESSAY


7/22/22
Y62 Interview: Joe Holmes

Last week, John Stewart had the fun opportunity to sit down with the masterful musician Joe Holmes to talk about music in his life, and how it all began. Enjoy!

CLICK HERE TO COMMENT ON THE INTERVIEW


7/22/22
How Secure is China’s Leadership? Part One
By Bill Stork

In the U.S., the political parties and media have their focus on the mid-term elections, and perhaps there is too much to cover and too much coverage. In China, the Chinese Communist Party has its Party Congress every five years, with the next one scheduled for this fall (date not yet revealed!). At the last Party Congress, President Xi Jinping had enough power to have scrapped all… CLICK HERE TO READ BILL’S COMPLETE ESSAY


7/22/22
Calling All Podcasters!

Are you a podcaster? Do you listen to podcasts, and maybe find a few to recommend? We want to hear from you! Please drop a line to YAM@Yale62.org and tell us about your involvement with this new medium. Thanks!


7/12/22
Our Y62 Coffee Hour: July 7, 2022. Taking Apart The News

Comments? Please make them here.


7/12/22
Dark Review of a Wine Book — Rejected by the Journal of Wine Economics

By Roman Weil

Roman Weil

Roman Weil

I hope you enjoy this lark, which results from my having time on my hands and a reputation as an oenonomist — an economist who does empirical research about wine. The book review editor of the Journal of Wine Economics (a Harvard guy, but forgive him that) asked me to review the 35th (!) edition of Kevin Zraly’s Windows on the World Complete Wine Course: Revised & Updated, Sterling Epicure; 2021; Hardcover: ‎ 464 pages, $35. ISBN-10: ‎ 1454942177; ISBN-13: ‎ 978-1454942177; First published 1985.

I had a ball writing this review for reasons you’ll see in a moment. The editor, after consulting with his co-editors rejected my first version because, they said, my review was more about what the book did not contain than what it did. Get rid of the stuff about its omissions and tell us its inclusions. So, I obeyed and did a boring review, which I’ll not give away anything about here. Instead I’ll show you what I wrote, which the editors rejected. All the following was in the first draft; none of this will appear in the Journal.

I’ll start by disabusing you of the notion this review is about Kevin Zraly’s book alone. You know him, sommelier at Windows on the World until its untimely demise on 9/11, but not me, so I’ll start with … READ ROMAN’S REVIEW HERE


7/07/22
Y62 Interview: David Finkle

Last week, John Stewart sat down via Zoom with David Finkle to chat about what’s kept David busy recently, and it’s a potpourri of endeavors! Please enjoy this charming chat between two longtime friends.

For more about David, you’re invited to go to his website, DavidFinkle.com, where you can hear an interview, read some of his stories and reviews, and even purchase a book or two, if you like.

Further, here’s that link to “Democracy, It’s the Best Thing Yet” – the latest Finkle and Weeden ode to our dear country.


7/07/22
Adventures with Cars
By Bill Weber of the Y62 Communications Team

1989 Jaguar, from my current collection

Back in high school I became fascinated with cars, and my first one, I recall, was a 1949 Packard that eventually ended up with me in New Haven during my Sophomore or Junior year; I sold it to Orin Towner, a fifth-year engineering/Navy fellow who roomed with Giamei, Post and me. Sometime before that, in my high school years, I bought a 1948 Lincoln V-12 Zephyr… CLICK TO READ BILL’S ADVENTURES


7/05/22
How Did You Survive Yale?

Did you have an unusual or especially interesting experiences in your adjustment to Yale, particularly involving money, grades, and financial aid? Did you have a scholarship and a bursary or off-campus job? Were they ever in jeopardy for any reason? Or a specific academic survival experience that you’d like to share? And what impact, if any, did this experience have on the rest of your Yale experience and your later life?

If you’d like to contribute to next month’s Coffee Hour discussion on Yale survival and adaptation experiences, write to the Coffee Hour team c/o Tim Hall at dthall@bu.edu.


6/21/22
Our 60th Reunion Materials – The Whole Package!
We now have the Reunion Report, courtesy of Reunion Chair, Dan Koenigsberg, videos for your viewing pleasure, the ‘Litany of Thanksgiving and Remembrance’ from our Memorial Service, and over 80 photos for you to enjoy. We hope it all brings a smile to your face!


6/06/22
Our Y62 Coffee Hour, June 1, 2022

Comments? Please make them here.


6/06/22
Memorial Day Celebration at the Town of Pulteney, NY
By Bill Weber

[Ed. Note: Former Town Supervisor of Pulteney, NY, Bill has been involved in civic activities there for many years. His Memorial Day speech is his latest service to the town.]

Welcome to the Town of Pulteney’s Memorial Day celebration. We are here today to honor the fallen soldiers of America’s wars and conflicts. On this day in 1868, General John Logan issued a proclamation commemorating the sacrifices of the soldiers and sailors of the Civil War. He called it Decoration Day, later to be termed Memorial Day. Over 600,000 men died in the battles and I am sad to say the United States has lost over 1 million men and women soldiers to date in a variety of wars and conflicts. The Town of Pulteney has contributed brave men and women to virtually all the conflicts and suffered loss… READ BILL’S COMPLETE ADDRESS HERE


6/03/22
Reunion Reflections of a Trailing Spouse
By Tim Hall

This is a report from the firing line, reflecting on yesterday’s experiences of being a nonessential participant in the ancient ritual, the Big Decade Reunion (for ancient alums). My wife, Marcy Crary, is a member of the Radcliffe/Harvard Class of 1972, was on the Reunion Planning Committee and chaired one of their class panels. So, she was a central member of the class gathering – and I was anything but. And this distance provided some useful… READ TIM’S COMPLETE ESSAY HERE


6/03/22
Y62 Interview: Art Mann & The Hourglass Foundation

Last month, Y62 Communications Team member Bill Weber sat down with classmate Art Mann to chat about the remarkable community development initiative in which Art’s been involved for well over two decades. Please enjoy the interview.

Comments? Please make them here.


6/03/22
The Yale Russian Chorus faces a difficult challenge.
By John Stewart

YRC in Russia, 2019

At the height of the cold war in the ’50s, a club began at Yale, to understand and learn more about Russia and the Soviet Union. Denis Mickewicz, studying in the Dept of Slavic Languages and the Yale School of Music, was invited to lead some Russian songs, and in a short time by virtue of his great charisma, musical and compositional gifts, and knowledge of sacred and secular Slavic choral literature, had attracted good enough voices to perform really challenging… READ JOHN’S COMPLETE ARTICLE HERE


The Listing of Front Page Stories for the Past Year or So Continues Here…

 

 

 

 

“Yale” and “Yale University” are registered trademarks of Yale University. This website is operated independently of Yale University. The statements and information contained on this website do not reflect the opinions or official positions of Yale, and no names or logos of businesses appearing on this website suggests or implies the endorsement or approval by Yale University of any such business or its products or services.

.